You are here: Home > Media Room > News & Press Releases 

Cuyahoga County Council Members Sworn In, Council Leadership Elected at First Meeting of the New Year


2015 County Council Meeting Schedule
2016 County Council Meeting Schedule

For Immediate Release
2 January 2015
Contact: Joseph Nanni
(216) 698-2520

Cleveland, OH – Friday, January 2, 2015 marks the beginning of the Third Cuyahoga County Council under the Charter.

At 1:00 p.m., Cuyahoga County Council members, elected in November 2014, were sworn in to their offices. After the swearing-in ceremony, Council held an Organizational Meeting to establish Council leadership and a schedule of meetings for 2015 and 2016. Council members elected Dan Brady and Pernel Jones, Jr. to serve as the body’s President and Vice President, respectively, for the upcoming two-year session.

Newly elected Council President Brady thanked his colleagues after the vote. “Thank all of you for your support. It’s been a long four years, we’ve done a lot together and I look forward to the next term“

Council Vice President Jones expressed his desire to work cooperatively with Council members and the Administration over the next two years. “We have all brought a diversity of experience to this Council and I look forward to continuing the progress we’ve made over the past four years”

The first regular meeting of Council will be held at 5:00 p.m. on Tuesday, January 13, 2015. Members of the public are encouraged to attend Council meetings, located in the C. Ellen Connally Council Chambers on the 4th floor of the County Administrative Headquarters, or to watch via Council’s live stream at   Complimentary parking passes for the attached garage at 900 Prospect are available for members of the public attending Council and Committee meetings.