You are here: Home > About the Council > Council Districting Commission > Meet the Commission

Meet the Commission


Chair Rob Frost (R), Lakewood. Mr. Frost has been a Partner at Capitol Partners, a consulting and public affairs firm with offices in Cleveland and Columbus, since 2016. Before joining Capitol Partners, he practiced law at Huffman, Isaac & Frost LLP, and Tucker Ellis LLP. He served as Chair of the Cuyahoga County Republican Party from 2005 to 2020 and was a member of the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections from 2007 to 2011 and from 2013 to early 2021. Mr. Frost holds a BA in International Studies from Emory University and earned his Juris Doctorate from the Case Western University School of Law.

Vice-Chair Sandra Morgan (D), East Cleveland. Ms. Morgan, the granddaughter of famed Cleveland inventor Garrett A. Morgan, is the Director of External Affairs and Diversity Representative for Kent State University’s College of Arts and Sciences. She previously served as Director of Institutional Relations at Akron’s National Inventors Hall of Fame and as Regional Manager for World Trade Center Cleveland. Ms. Morgan, who holds a BA from Smith College and an MBA from Kent State, has served on numerous boards and commissions, including the State Finance Commission for the City of East Cleveland, the Cleveland Council on World Affairs, and the Cleveland Municipal School District.

Doug Koesel (D), Cleveland. Father Koesel was ordained as a Catholic priest in 1978 and was assigned to various Northeast Ohio parishes before being named pastor at Blessed Trinity Parish in Cleveland’s West Park neighborhood in 2010. He has spent time in Latin America as part of a Cleveland Diocese mission team, taught English as a second language in Los Angeles, and worked as a dealer in a Las Vegas casino during a leave of absence from the priesthood. He attended Chester Elementary School, Borromeo High School, and Borromeo College in Wickliffe and received a Master of Divinity from St. Mary’s Seminary in 1978.

Kenneth Lumpkin (D), Garfield Heights. Mr. Lumpkin chaired the first Cuyahoga County Districting Commission, which was convened in 2011. He is an attorney specializing in public finance and municipal law and a former Partner at the minority-owned law firm Lumpkin McCrary LLC. Mr. Lumpkin has served as a member of Cleveland City Council, as well as Assistant Law Director for the City of Cleveland, Special Counsel to the Ohio Attorney General, Hearing Examiner for the Ohio Department of Health, and Director of the Fairfax Neighborhood Community Development Corporation. He earned a BS in Economics from Central State University and his Juris Doctorate from Howard University School of Law.

Cathlyn Murphy (R), Highland Heights. Ms. Murphy is an attorney whose law practice focuses on estate planning, probate, and senior advocacy. She is a former clerk for the Ohio 11th District Court of Appeals and was a member of Highland Heights City Council for 16 years, where she served for eight years as Council President before deciding not to seek reelection in 2019. Ms. Murphy has been President of Hillcrest Meals on Wheels since 2012 and is a member of the Community Partnership on Aging Foundation. She earned her Juris Doctorate from Western Michigan University’s Thomas Cooley School of Law and is licensed to practice in Ohio and Michigan.

As permitted by the Charter, Cuyahoga County has retained the R Strategy Group, Target Smart and Muller Public Strategies to provide data analysis, map drawing, and public engagement consulting services to the Districting Commission. These three firms bring decades of experience to the project—an important factor given the extremely short time available to draft and submit a final apportionment plan.