You are here: Home > Media Room > News & Press Releases 

Cuyahoga County Council President Dan Brady names committee chairs for the 2015-2016 legislative term


Download this press release
2015-2016 Committee Assignments

For Immediate Release
9 January 2015
Contact: Joseph Nanni
(216) 698-2520

Cleveland, OH – Newly elected Council President Dan Brady today named the following chairs of the standing committees of County Council for the 2015-2016 term:

 Standing Committee Chair
Finance & Budgeting: Councilman Dave Greenspan, District 1
Economic Development & Planning: Councilman Jack Schron, District 6 
Human Resources, Appointments & Equity: Councilwoman Yvonne Conwell, District 7
Public Safety & Justice Affairs: Councilman Michael J. Gallagher, District 5
Council Operations & Intergovernmental Relations: Councilman Dale Miller, District 2
Public Works, Procurement & Contracting: Councilman Chuck Germana, District 4
Health, Human Services & Aging: Vice-President Pernel Jones, Jr., District 8
Education, Environment & Sustainability: Councilwoman Sunny Simon, District 11

 ***The full list of committee membership is attached***

President Brady also intends to introduce legislation to establish a new Community Development committee to be chaired by Councilman Anthony Hairston, District 10.  This new committee will oversee the County’s various community development initiatives, including the implementation of Cuyahoga County’s $50 million demolition program.

President Brady stated “It is my intention that these committee appointments be made in a thoughtful and timely manner to help ensure a seamless transition in County government.  These committee appointments will continue to reflect the political diversity of County Council by capitalizing on the strengths of our individual members.”

Council committees provide oversight of county operations, conduct legislative review and investigation, and make recommendations on items presented to Council. Council rules mandate that the president appoint the chair, vice-chair, and members of all standing committees no later than the second regular meeting of the legislative term following the organizational meeting.

The first committee meetings of the new term will begin the week of January 20th and will be scheduled on an ad hoc basis until Council formally approves the standing committee schedule.